top of page

Decorating with Thrift Store finds

Need some decorating items but are on a budget? Thrift stores are like Candy Shops for DIY enthusiasts, and I am not only talking about scouting old furniture...Where else can you find (sometimes almost new) home decor treasures for a few dollars? Don't like the color of the vase? Transform it in your own style - possibilities are endless....

As soon as I enter a thrift store I am on a mission. My creative brain is all of a sudden working overtime :-) my husband once said to me: I think I can see some steam coming out of your ears!!! I am not only looking for cool "as is" items but I am also deliberating about whether an item has potential for a makeover or not.

My most favorite items to look for? There are some "classics" for sure:

  • Vases

  • Candles and Candle holder

  • Baskets of all kind (great in front of the fireplace or to store cushions and blankets AND perfect for putting together a gift basket)

  • Decorative wooden boxes

  • Trays

  • Mirrors (easy chalk paint projects)

  • Picture frames (I can not remember how many frames I have painted over the years)

  • Garden lights and lanterns (probably found 4-5 fancy looking Moroccan Lanterns)

  • Household items (bowls, fancy plates, glasses and serving dishes - most of the stuff I bought was brand new)

Not all the thrift stores are the same (some are better and some are worse), sometimes you are lucky and have a big grin on your face because you found several cool items, but there are also days where absolutely nothing seems to be good enough to go home with you :-)

Well, give it a try, you might like it and enjoy the thrill as much as I do!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page